What do you need to know about job seekers looking to open a medical marijuana dispensary?
We put together a comprehensive guide for anyone who wants to get their medical marijuana license and navigate the complicated rules and paperwork to get it.
Here’s everything you need.
When and where can I apply?
There are four main stages of licensure in New York state: Licensing stage 1 is when you can apply to open up a dispensary.
You must be at least 21 years old and have an address where you can obtain a license.
If you are not, you will be required to apply for another license.
Licensing Stage 2 is when your application is approved by a board of medical examiners, or MBE.
The board must have at least six members, one from each of the following medical conditions: cancer, HIV/AIDS, diabetes, arthritis, glaucoma, glioblastoma multiforme, glomerulonephritis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, and multiple sclerosis.
Licencing Stage 3 is when a board decides to make your license permanent.
If your application has been approved, you’ll be allowed to cultivate your own medical marijuana and you will receive a license to distribute it to licensed patients.
You will be responsible for paying a $100 fee to the state.
Licence stage 4 is when the board makes the final decision on your application.
If the board decides you qualify for licensure, you must apply to renew your license.
A renewal fee of $100 is required.
You can renew your medical marijuana business licenses by visiting your local state medical marijuana board.
How much does it cost?
Licensing fees vary depending on which stage you’re in.
Stage 1 fees are $150 and stage 2 fees are about $150.
You should not expect to pay more than $1,000 for your license and can apply for a lower fee, which can be up to $500.
What is a dispensary?
A medical marijuana shop is a marijuana dispensary that sells pot to patients.
There are a variety of businesses that sell marijuana to people and some businesses will only sell to people with a medical license.
For example, a medical dispensary will only allow people with an approved medical marijuana program card to get marijuana for those who have a medical program card.
A dispensary must comply with all local regulations and requirements that apply to any other business.
The dispensary is responsible for all taxes and licensing fees for its business, and it must abide by all laws, ordinances, and licenses it obtains from the state, including regulations regarding marijuana cultivation, distribution, and use.
The state regulates marijuana for adults and is responsible in determining when people are able to use it.
If a person is arrested for possession of marijuana, the person will be charged with a misdemeanor and will have to pay a fine and go to court.
What are the regulations around medical marijuana?
All medical marijuana businesses must have a written lease agreement and are subject to certain conditions.
If an existing medical marijuana establishment closes, a new medical marijuana store will be created in its place.
A license for a new business requires a letter from the New York State Department of Health stating that the medical marijuana location is a safe, legal, and responsible place for the operation of a medical medical marijuana facility.
The letter must be signed by the owner and must state that the business is licensed under the provisions of the New New York Medical Marijuana Program and the New NY State Medical Marijuana Regulation Act.
Is it legal to sell marijuana?
Yes, but the state will still take enforcement action if you’re not abiding by all of the requirements set forth by the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Act.
New York law prohibits businesses from selling marijuana to anyone who is under the age of 21.
You also cannot sell to anyone under the influence of marijuana.
The law also says that anyone selling marijuana for medical purposes, or to anyone on any federal, state, or local level, will be subject to criminal penalties.
In New York, the state’s Medical Marijuana Law makes it a crime for anyone to sell or distribute marijuana without a medical certificate.
How long will I have to wait for a license?
Licenses for a medical cannabis business can be renewed for up to 10 years, and they are also valid for the life of the business.
This means you can continue to sell pot to people who have the medical card, but you’ll have to have a license for them.
If they’re older than 65, the business can sell to the person who is older than that.
The license can be for up 1,000 square feet, but that’s about half of the space of a typical marijuana dispensary.
If it’s your first medical marijuana operation, it’s likely that you’ll need to purchase your license on a first come, first served basis.
How do I apply for my medical marijuana licence?
You can apply online.
You’ll need an email address and phone